Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomeFeaturedSierra Leone RTA holds first awards night

Sierra Leone RTA holds first awards night

Sierra Leone RTA holds first awards night

The Sierra Leone Road Transport Authority (SLRTA) on Saturday 11th January, 2014 held its first awards night at its Kissy Road Headquarters, Freetown.  (Photo: SLRTA Executive Director, Dr. Sarah Finda Bendu)

SLRTA Executive Director, Dr. Sarah Finda Bendu stated that the awards night was the first to be held in SLRTA since its established as a way to motivate staff and management of the institution to be determined and committed on their work for the transformation of SLRTA, noting, “as this is the first award party since the establishment of RTA to recognized those that have served the institution diligently, adding, “collectively we will do it and recognized those that have serve the authority assiduously on their duties and services in transforming RTA congratulations and kudos to those that have made it happened”.

Dr. Sarah Finda Bendu called on staff to join her on the strive as SLRTA was established by an Act of Parliament with its vision to deliver to the people goods and services on safe and more efficient roads through better regulation, coordination and promotion of effective practices by all stakeholders in the road transport sector.

She reiterated that the institution was also established to regulate, coordinate and promote efficiency in all activities within the road industry with a view to enhance and improve the contribution of the sector to economic development, adding, “2014 is challenging to do more and make the institution the most enviable institution in the country together we can.”

Awardees included former Executive Director, Joseph S. Kelfala, John A. Keista, Kolo B. M. Kamara; retires; Mrs. C. A. Reiner, Adama Kanu, F. B. Gbao, Miss W. O. Berie; 2013 Best Performing Station include; Lungi, Kissy, Bo, Kenema and Kambia because of its excellence performance an office will be established there in 2014.

Another awards include; punctual and regular staff, committed and dedicated staff, long serving and dedicated staff, team work, stakeholders award include; Indigenous Transport Owners (ITO), Bike Riders and Drivers Union.

Others include; Individual performance award; RTA Public Relations Officer, Abdul Karim Dumbuya; Alpha Gbessay, Finance Officer; Salifu Mansaray, Licenses Department; Ibrahim Sangba, Licenses Depart Director and Emmanuel Kallon, Internal Audit.

SLRTA PRO, Abdul Karim Dumbuya with his award

SLRTA PRO, Abdul Karim Dumbuya with his award

SLRTA PRO, Abdul Karim Dumbuya commended the Executive Director, Dr. Sarah Bendu and Board for the award which is a motivation to do more to enhance the development of RTA.

By Abdul R. Bedor Kamara

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2014, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment