Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomePoliticsIn Kailahun… 5 Constituencies to Quit SLPP

In Kailahun… 5 Constituencies to Quit SLPP

In Kailahun… 5 Constituencies to Quit SLPP

Thousands of women and youths from the main opposition Sierra Leone People’s Party (SLPP) based in Kailahun have vowed to vote for another political party if the main opposition party refuses to nominate Mrs. Navo Kaikai as their candidate for the position of district chairperson in the 17th November local council elections following the approval of Alex Bonapha to run for that position.

The protesters all of whom are registered members of the SLPP told this press that the decision by the party election management board to award lawyer Alex Bonapha the candidate symbol for Kailahun district chairperson was a very unfortunate one as Mrs. Navo Kaikai is the winning aspirant and also the most popular of the three contestants among the SLPP supporters in Kailahun.

Speaking to this press Ibrahim Sam SLPP member resident in Kailahun said that supporters from constituencies one, two, three, four and six in Kailahun district have all vowed to vote for either the ruling (APC) instead of the unpopular SLPP candidate that was imposed on them by the EMB.

Ibrahim Sam continued that SLPP EMB failed to listen to the voice of the people and appoint the candidate of their choice at the expense of the party.

Another Kailahun resident and strong SLPP member Christiana Bockarie also promised to vote against her party in the upcoming election because of the EMB decision. Madam Bockarie advised the SLPP hierarchy to look into some of these decisions by EMB as the parliamentary nominations are at hand. National Secretary General of SLPP EMB Jacob Jusu Saffa apologized to all losing aspirants for some of the decisions taking by the EMB.

J.J Saffa added that despite the huge criticism being levied against them, the opposition party is lighting hard to present a formidable team for the 17th November Multi national elections in Sierra Leone.

According to a protest letter from losing aspirants in Kailahun Mrs. Navo Kaikai, her camp won four out of the awarded candidates winning three constituencies while the other aspirant won in just one constituency.

By Boyzy Balogun

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!


© 2012, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment