Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomePoliticsAPC Wins Petition Cases in Sierra Leone

APC Wins Petition Cases in Sierra Leone

APC Wins Petition Cases in Sierra Leone

Ten petition cases filed against the main opposition All Peoples’ Congress (APC) party sitting Members of Parliament have been struck out at the Appeal Court of Sierra Leone on Wednesday 10th April 2019.

The three Justices of the Appeals Court, Monfred M Sesay, Musu D. Kamara and E. Taylor Kamara presided over the matters.

The under-mentioned APC MPs are Hon. Kusan Sesay-Constituency 45; Hon. Lahai Marah-42; Hon. Charles Conteh-31; Hon. Mohamed Bangura 50; Hon. Foday Lamin Conteh-44; Hon. Saidu Kamara-71; Hon. Aeron Koroma-48; Hon. Alusine Kamara-58; Hon. Ibrahim Kamara-41.

The ruling Sierra Leone Peoples’ Party (SLPP) and the minor opposition National Grand Coalition (NGC), after the March 7 2018 presidential and parliamentary elections filed five petitions each against ten APC MPs.

Both parties craved the court to overturn the interlocutory order ruled in favour of the APC MPs in August 2018 in the High Court of Makeni.

The Court of Appeal,  which is the last and final  court regarding petitions challenging the election of Members of Parliament, has ruled that all 10 APC MPs from the north and north-west regions who had earlier being petitioned, were legally elected and hence their seats as Members of Parliament are retained

The petitioned APC MPs predominantly from north and north-west regions were represented by Lawyer Roland Nylander while SLPP and NGC petitioners were represented by Lawyer Musa Mewa and Lawyer A. Mansaray.

By Ibrahim Alusine Kamara

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2019, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.