Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomeNationalParliament Practice and Procedures

Parliament Practice and Procedures

Parliament Practice and Procedures

Rt. Hon. SBB Dumbuya is the Current Speaker of Parliament [Section 79 (4c) of the 1991 Constitution], and he is Head of the Legislature (Parliament)

Members of Parliament ( Not MP-Elect) SHALL Elect a Speaker. [79(1) of the Constitution]

– One becomes an MP after Subscribing to the Oath, before taking a Seat

Parliament Standing Orders three  (SO 3) states that: Mr. Speaker SHALL Allocate Seat to each MP (Not MP-elect)

SO 1A (3) States that: …….take and subscribe to the said-Oath or make the said Affirmation BEFORE Mr. Speaker

Hence, the Oath of Allegiance can Only be Administered by Mr. Clerk, when Mr. Speaker takes his Seat and Calls Parliament to Order.

On the above, Mr. Speaker (Rt. Hon. SBB Dumbuya) will first and foremost perform the function as the Current Speaker for the Administration of the Oath of Allegiance to the MPs – Elect.

Thereafter, the Session for the Election of a New Speaker for which he has the right to contest.

He will vacate the Seat of the Speaker after the Pronouncement by Mr. Clerk.

I therefore call on Mr. Lebbie (Deputy Clerk 1) and Mr. King (Deputy Clerk 2), as well as the Parliamentary Legal Man to guide the New Clerk.

Hon Claude D M Kamanda, Former Majority Chief Whip

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!


© 2018, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment