Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomePoliticsHigh Court Slams Injunction On 11 APC MPs

High Court Slams Injunction On 11 APC MPs

High Court Slams Injunction On 11 APC MPs

High Court of Sierra Leone presided over by Justices Alusine Sesay and Babatunde Edwards have just slammed an interim Injunction on 11 proposed Members of Parliament representing the main opposition All People’s Congress (APC)  party.

The MPs are Lawyer Osman Timbo, Kadiatu Davies, Hon. Cherinor R. M. Bah aka Chericoco (in photo above), Ahmed Mansaray and Siraj Rollings Kamara among others.

According to the Master and Registrar-Stephen Mansaray, more petitions are expected from the ruling SLPP and the opposition APC. He says three more files have been assigned.

At the moment, Lawyer Jusu Kallon and other SLPP lawyers are in Makeni on similar case.
The 132 elected MPs and 14 Paramount Chief MPs are to be sworn in tomorrow in the well of Parliament, however a press release from the Speaker has deferred the sitting.

Osman Timbo

Siraj Rollins Kamara

Seasoned lawyers spoken to have stated that, ” the Speaker has no right to postpone Parliamentary sitting and the provisions cited in his press release are misinforming.”

According to Hon. Paran Tarawally-Cleark of Parliament, “the ceremony will commence unhindered.”

This ceremony marks the opening of the 5th Parliament of the 4th Session-Republic of Sierra Leone.

Unfortunately, the aforementioned MPs will not take part in the ceremony until the final determination of the matter.

Voting for the position of Speaker shall commence tomorrow. According to report,  Dr. Abass Bundu is the nominee for the ruling SLPP whilst the former Speaker-Sheku BB Dumbuya is the current APC’s nominee.

By Elkass Sannoh Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news@!

© 2018, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment