Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomeFeaturedKisii University Receives Dr. Jasmine Renner, Fulbright Specialists Scholar Award

Kisii University Receives Dr. Jasmine Renner, Fulbright Specialists Scholar Award

Kisii University Receives Dr. Jasmine Renner, Fulbright Specialists Scholar Award

Dr. Jasmine Renner (in photo),  a born native of Sierra Leone, Barrister and Solicitor and tenured Associate Professor at East Tennessee State University in the United States, was awarded a Fulbright Specialists Scholar Award and was assigned to Kisii University, Kenya during the week of August 17th – September, 27th, 2013, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Dr. Renner presented two public lectures on E–Learning and Mobile Learning adoption, design and implementation at Kisii University in Kenya.  She also conducted lectures at the graduate and undergraduate levels for students on developing successful grants and research proposals, led seminars and workshops with faculty and staff, conducted institutional programmatic research and strategic planning and took part in specialized academic programs.

Dr. Jasmine Renner is one of over 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who traveled abroad this year and will travel again to Hong Kong in 2016 through the Fulbright Specialists Program. The Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post secondary, academic institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 60 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. Over 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners, and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement. Among thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, Chairman of the Board of Intel Corporation. Distinguished Fulbright Specialist participants include Mahmoud Ayoub, Professor of Religion at Temple University, Heidi Hartmann, President and CEO, Institute for Women’s Policy Research, Percy R. Luney, Jr. Dean and Professor, College of Law, Florida A & M University and Emily Vargas-Barone, Founder and Executive Director of the RISE Institute.                                                                  

For further information about the Fulbright Specialists Program, or the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, please contact FULSPEC@cies.iie.org or visit the website at  www.cies.org.

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2013, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment