Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomeGlobalKwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards for Women

Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards for Women

Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards for Women

Addis Ababa, 14 December 2011- The Pan African University (PAU) was officially launched today, 14th December 2011, by Dr. Jean Ping, Chairperson of the African Union Commission (AUC) and Mr Sam Ongeri, the Chairperson of the Conference of Ministers of Education of the African Union (COMEDAF) in the presence of Professor Jean Pierre Ezin, Commissioner for Human Resources, Science and Technology (HRST) at the AUC, whose department has coordinated the establishment of the PAU. 

The same occassion also witnessed the awarding of $20 000 each to 7 women scientists under the African Union Kwame Nkurumah Scientific Awards. 

In his remarks, Dr. Ping noted that this year ends with positive events. “This is the continuation of the realization of the great adventure of the Pan African University (PAU) with the launch of its five thematic areas on the one hand; and the third edition of the Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards on the other. 

He briefly reviewed the milestones in the recent history of the African Union, which led to the PAU realization. According to the Chairperson, “our Heads of State and Government during their meeting at the AU summit took important decisions to accelerate the development agenda and the integration of the continent. At the same time, science and technology have been more visible in official statements at the highest level”. 

The Chairperson commended the enthusiasm and total commitment from Member States of the African Union and Regional Economic Communities (RECs) in the realization of the Pan-African University. This demonstrates the will and commitment of all stakeholders to work together for a better –being, he said. 

The Pan-African University is designed as a process of joint implementation of the Plan of Action for the Second Decade of Education in Africa (2006-2015) and the Consolidated Plan of Action for Science and Technology in Africa (CPA) (2006-2011). 

In his remarks, Professor Ezin said that for over three years, the realization of the Pan African University has evolved through various workshops and fora, the African Diaspora, and partners of African Union with the strong support of all political authorities of the continent and that of the AUC Chairperson. 

Kwame Nkurumah Scientific Awards

For the 2011 edition of the African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards, prizes of $20 000 each were awarded to top African women scientists in each of the following sectors (a) Life and Earth Science; and (b) Basic Science, Technology and Innovation at the national, regional and continental levels. The successful seven laureates are from Southern, Northern, Western and Central Regions. 

The following are the winners for 2011 edition:

  1. Prof. Rose Gana Fomban Leke;
  2. Prof. Dr. Ebtehal El-Demerdash;
  3. Assistant Prof. Nermin El Semary;
  4. Prof. Maureen Coetzee;
  5. Dr. Etheresia (Resia);
  6. Prof. Dosso Mireille Carmen; and
  7. Prof. Kakou Yao Rita. 

For more information, visit the AU website: www.au.int

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2011, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment