Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomeSportsGyan tops Drogba and Eto’o for BBC award

Gyan tops Drogba and Eto’o for BBC award

Gyan tops Drogba and Eto’o for BBC award

The 2010 BBC African Footballer of Year is Ghanaian, Asamoah Gyan. This is the first time for the Sunderland player to lift the award with an overwhelming majority, receiving more votes than Ivorian Chelsea star man Didier and Inter Milan Eto’o for his outstanding performance in the World Cup and his recent form with his English side.

I’m so happy, I can’t believe it,” he said. “I’m so thankful to all the fans who voted for me.”

He added: “It was really hard to win this award, especially because of all the other players I was up against.”

“So I’m so appreciative to all my fans in Africa – especially my family and fans in Ghana.” he said on the BBC.

Gyan had a memorable year internationally, leading Ghana to second place at the African Cup of Nations in Angola; scoring three of the four goals that helped Ghana reach their first final in 18 years.

At the World Cup in South Africa, the 24-year-old grabbed the world’s attention as his three goals helped the Black Stars progress from the group and into the quarter-finals.

The search for BBC African Footballer of the Year 2010 began on 15 November when fans were given a chance to choose their African football hero from a shortlist selected by experts from each of the continent’s 52 countries.

Public voting closed on 10 December 2010 – with votes cast online at bbc.com/africanfootball or via text messages. The BBC award is the only one of its kind to be chosen by football fans.

Previous winners of the BBC African Footballer of the Year award:

2009 – Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)
2008 – Mohamed Aboutrika (Egypt)
2007 – Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo)
2006 – Michael Essien (Ghana)
2005 – Mohamed Barakat (Egypt)
2004 – Jay-Jay Okocha (Nigeria)
2003 – Jay-Jay Okocha
2002 – El Hadji Diouf (Senegal)
2001 – Sammy Kuffuor (Ghana)
2000 – Patrick Mboma (Cameroon)

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2010, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment