Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomeSportsAthletics get new faces in the north

Athletics get new faces in the north

Athletics get new faces in the north

In a bid to improve and develop athletics in the Northern Region of the country, the Northern Region Athletics Association (NRAA) has elected new executive members to man the affairs of the association in the region.

The election took place during the association’s extra-ordinary congress at their Yiks Road office in Makeni, Saturday 24th July 2010.

The congress drew members from all the five districts in the North and members of the press.

In his statement, the Chairman who also doubles as the Director of Sports, North Samuel E. O. Williams, said the congress is mainly called to elect members into positions which, according to him, will take athletics to another level in the region.

Mr. Samuel Williams said the positions they held were given to them on an appointment basis since 2004 and they have over due for elections. The Director of Sport, north, called on them to ensure they work in the interest of promoting athletics in the region.

The Youth and Sports Chairman in the Makeni City Council, Councillor Ibrahim T. Sesay (Teddy P), appealed to the aspirants that whoever won should ensure the he or she works in the best interest of athletics and restore the good name the region had made.

Councillor Teddy P further advised them to have love and passion for athletics and always work as a family.

After the elections which were conducted by the Director of Sports, Samuel E. O. Williams, the following people were declared winners:

  • Mark I.S. Koroma (Bombali) President
  • Abass D. Kabia (Port Loko) V. President
  • James O. Tholley (Tonkolili) Sec. General
  • Alpha Bagura (Bombali) Asst. Sec. General
  • John Bai Kamara (Tonkolili) Treasurer
  • Alex M. Koroma Org. Secretary
  • Mohamed Kabba (Bombali) Public Relations Officer
  • Councillor Sentho (Bombali) Women’s wing  Leader
  • Veronica K. Hallowell (Bombali)        “              Dept.
  • Diego Kamara (Bombali) District Rep.
  • Adikali Sesay (Bombali) Regional Rep
  • Romeo Bangura (Koinadugu) District  Rep.
  • Amara S. Kamara (Kambia       “            “
  • Bai S. Wuri (P/ Loko)                  “            “
  • Nashiru Deen (Tonkolili)          “             “

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2010, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment