Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomeFeaturedMinistry of Energy commissions free electricity in Lakka

Ministry of Energy commissions free electricity in Lakka

Ministry of Energy commissions free electricity in Lakka

Wednesday 27th August 2014 – The Ministry of Energy officially commissioned and handed over a 315 KVA transformer and many solar light poles around the Lakka Ebola Holding Center in Freetown. In a well attended handing over ceremony, the Minister of Energy – Ambassador Henry Macauley commended the medical team at Lakka government hospital for the good job they do to Sierra Leoneans adding that it was sad for the hospital to have been running without adequate electricity. He also thanked his operations team in the Ministry and NPA for the rapid response in facilitating and bringing electricity supply to the newly established Ebola Holding Center adjacent the TB hospital. The Minister was quick to assure the head of the hospital – Matron Kadiatu Yansanneh that the electricity service will be constant and free for the entire Center.

As a way of responding to the clarion call of the President – Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma to fight a common enemy (Ebola), the Ministry of Energy and the National Power Authority were proud to provide a free and constant electricity supply for the above named centre.

The Ministry and NPA Management feel with the infected persons as customers with heavy hearts, we are highly disturbed and moved by the escalation of this dangerous killer disease (Ebola) in our beloved county – Sierra Leone. Against this backdrop therefore, NPA and the Ministry of Energy recognize the frantic effort of the government and we are proud to complement government’s effort in providing free and sustainable electricity supply for the newly established Ebola Holding centre at Lakka.

The high power delegation included the Minister, his Deputies – Major Ismail Koroma and Alhaji Hassan Barrie, the Permanent Secretary – Mrs. Zainab Buya-Kamara, the Energy Director – Ing. Benjamin Kamara, EDSA Director general – Ing. Alhaji Timbo, EGTC Director General – Ing. Dennis Garvie, the Project Delivery Manager – Madam NGozi Becley-Lines, The General Manager of Bumbuna 2 – Ing. Cyril Grant, Head of Rural Energy – Ing. Foday Suma, Head of Renewable Energy – Ing. Robin Mansaray and a host of other staff members from the Ministry and NPA.

By Ahmed Fonike

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2014, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment