Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomePoliticsNEC Declares Four Elections before November 17th

NEC Declares Four Elections before November 17th

NEC Declares Four Elections before November 17th

The National Electoral Commission (NEC) has announced that there will be only four District elections to nominate Paramount Chiefs (PC) who will be represented in the 2012-2017 legislative sessions of parliament.  (Photo: Christiana Thorpe, NEC Commissioner)

Chairperson of NEC, Madam Christiana Thorpe told journalists during their regular update of activities to the public that PC nominations 2012 started 29 September-1st October 2012 and only four districts are yet to be nominated.

Madam Thorpe noted the four districts that will have to elect their PCs as being Kenema, Kono, and Koinadugu and Bonthe, adding that all other districts successfully selected their PC representatives without any election.

According to Madam Thorpe, the NEC is continuing the distribution of unclaimed voters and a total of 2,692,635 voters have been recorded in the final voters register (FVR).

The NEC boss also said that training for all potential candidates will commence today as the Commission has put all modalities in place for a transparent, credible, free and fair election on 17th November 2012.

The commission further revealed that campaigns will start on October 17th and end 15th November 2012.

All the NEC Commissioners were present at the meeting.

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2012, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment