Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomePoliticsPort Loko Awards 8 MPs

Port Loko Awards 8 MPs

Port Loko Awards 8 MPs

The APC Electoral College yesterday conducted primary elections for the award of the party symbol to parliamentary aspirants in eight out of the ten constituencies in the District.

The conduct of the elections in Constituencies 55 and 58 of Honorable Binneh Bangura and Hon. Jacob Koroma respectively were postponed due to disturbances as to who should be awarded the symbol.

According to reports, the people claimed that they do not have confidence in the Electoral College.

Alhaji Chernor Dumbuya won in Constituency 49 with 71 votes after the runoff with the incumbent Honorable Isatu Koroma who polled 40 votes.

Alhaji Chernor Dumbuya informed this medium in an interview that he is delighted at the development recalling that he has been interacting with his people to know their needs since he returned home from America a year ago and described his predecessor a non-performer.

In Constituency 50 in Lunsar, the election was won by Isata Kabia that resulted to chaos as the youths protested that the process was manipulated in her favor.

The youths chanted that Osman Karankay is their choice as he has been assisting them that resulted to Osman Karankay bagging 35 votes in the first rounds while Isata Kabia polled 32.

According to the youths, after the first rounds, they were told by the Electoral College to go home with no indication that the runoff will be conducted while at the same time retaining voters of the winner, one of the reasons they accused the College of foul play and appealed to the President to intervene otherwise they will not vote for the party in the coming polls.

Abibatu Kalokoh won in Constituency 51; the incumbent Honorable Ibrahim Bundu in Constituency 52; incumbent Honorable Hassan Sheriff in Constituency 53 and incumbent Honorable Mohamed Khalil Kanu in Constituency 54.

Others are incumbent Honorable Kombor Kamara in Constituency 56, incumbent Honorable Abu Koroma in Constituency 57 while in Constituency 58, the incumbent Honorable Jacob Koroma objected to the list of the Electoral College.

By A. R. Bedor

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2012, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment