Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomePoliticsSeven Political Parties Congratulate President Koroma

Seven Political Parties Congratulate President Koroma

Seven Political Parties Congratulate President Koroma

A cross-section of leaders of seven political parties have congratulated President Ernest Bai Koroma on his reelection at the recently concluded November polls. The meeting took place at the Credentials Hall, State House, Freetown.

According to the Chairman of the group of concerned political parties, Dr Kandeh Baba Conteh, President Koroma won the election genuinely as observed by even all international and local observer missions during and after the elections.

Dr Conteh went on to assure the newly elected president of their unflinching support to continue the development and transformation of the country. He reiterated the call on the SLPP to use legal channels to seek redress if at all they are aggrieved.

The leader of the PLP also noted that it was because of the tireless efforts of President Koroma to move the country forward that convinced them to initiate a meeting with the president and congratulate him on his resounding victory.

Welcoming the leaders of the seven political parties, President Ernest Bai Koroma said the winners of the just concluded elections are the people of Sierra Leone. “Elections”, he said, “are not a matter of life and death”, saying “we must all advance the development and transformation of Sierra Leone”.

The Chief Executive also noted that Sierra Leone’s elections were observed to be the most peaceful elections in the history of Sierra Leone. “The enthusiasm of the people with over 80% voter turn out is considered to be huge even by western standards”, he said

President Koroma went on to say that Sierra Leone is no more a nation that could be referred to as a fragile democracy, rather the country has now earned the status of a matured democracy following the successful conduct to the November 17th elections.

“We don’t want to be defined by our past but defined by how we respond to the developmental challenges facing us as a country”, adding that he will continue to provide the leadership that will bring everyone onboard the development process.

The seven political parties include the People’s Democracy Party (PDP), the United Democratic Party (UDM), the RUFP, the NDA, the CDP, the PLP and UNPP.

The vote of thanks was rendered by the leader of the RUFP, Eldred Collins who paid glowing tribute to the ceaseless efforts of President Koroma to turn Sierra Leone around for the better.

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2012, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment