Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomePress ReleasesSLAJ Electoral Commission – Press Release

SLAJ Electoral Commission – Press Release

SLAJ Electoral Commission – Press Release

The Electoral Commission wishes to inform the membership of SLAJ that on the 23rd of March 2011, an objection letter against irregular names on the voters list for the March 26 Elections was received from Mr. Mustapha Sesay, Presidential aspirant.

The inclusion of names of new members of the Association on the voters register is objected on the grounds that it contravenes Article12 (8) of the 2001 Revised SLAJ constitution:

“Registration of new members to SLAJ shall cease at least 90 days to the start of the Biennial Conference”

The Electoral Commission would like to inform members that it is not the mandate of the Electoral Commission to register voters.  The SLAJ Executive through the Credentials Committee has the responsibility to register members of the Association who eventually become voters in the elections process.

However, having received an objection from a member of the Association and a Presidential Aspirant, the Commission has investigated the matter and found out the following:

  • 44 Applicants were approved for membership into the Association on February 8, 2011 the majority of which has been applications dated far back as 2010. The approval is less than 90 days to the start of the Biennial Conference.
  • 15 of these new members have not paid-up and are not part of the membership register which is also the voters register.
  • 29 of these new members are paid-up and are listed in the membership/voters register.

In order to fulfill the constitutional provision on registration of new members as stated in Article 12(8) of the 2001 Revised SLAJ Constitution, The Electoral Commission hereby declare the following people NOT ELIGIBLE to vote in the March 26, Elections. The following names are hereby expunged from the voters register:

  1. Daniel E. Johnson
  2. Alex Terena
  3. N’Fa Alie Koroma
  4. Abu Bakarr K. Kargbo
  5. Ahmed Fonike Bangura
  6. Sheikh Unisa Thoronka
  7. Josiah F Paris
  8. Poindexter Sama
  9. Mambah Bayoh
  10. 10.  Abu Bakarr Conteh
11.  Samuella Senesie
12.  Lucy Ann Ganda
13.  Beatrice J Jones
14.  Ilyasa Baa
15.  Bampia James Bundu
16.  Alimamy L Kamara
17.  Fredica Momoh
18.  Amadu Sandy
19.  Umu Bakarr
20.  Martha Kargbo
21.  Musa Mewa
22.  Phebean Swill
23.  Hawa Bockarie-Barrie
24.  Mustapha Dumbuya
25.  Salim Sahid Kamara
26.  Abu Maurice Bangura
27.  Unisa Bangura
28.  Hannah M. Johnson
29.  Unisa Sesay

Signed: Ransford S.C. Wright, Chief Electoral commissioner

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2011, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment