Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomeSportsDec 10 deadline date for BBC 2010 player voting

Dec 10 deadline date for BBC 2010 player voting

Dec 10 deadline date for BBC 2010 player voting

Fans voting for their players have until Friday 10 December to vote if any of their most outstanding African player of 2010 has any chance to grab the award as the winner will be announced Dec 17 on the BBC’s African sports programme Fast Track.  (Photo: (LR Gyan & Drogba)

Top Chelsea star man Didier Drogba racing with several of other top African stars, five candidates running a close race for the prestigious award  are Asamoah Gyan and Andre ‘Dede’ Ayew, both from Ghana and Cameroon and Inter Milan striker Samuel Eto’o, Manchester City’s Ivorian midfielder Yaya Toure.

Pundits talking to Sierra Express Media, says it might not be a straightforward choice this time round, but BBC African sports editor, Farayi Mungazi said: “Many football matches are won or lost in the dying minutes. “So it’s possible that this year’s winner might be decided by last-minute votes, so it’s important for everyone to cast their votes.”

Voting for the award is done via text and online.

Click here to cast your vote

Last year’s winner was Drogba after his consistent form and goals for club and country.

Previous winners of BBC African Footballer of the Year award:

2009 – Didier Drogba (Chelsea & Ivory Coast)
2008 – Mohamed Aboutrika (Al Ahly & Egypt)
2007 – Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal & Togo)
2006 – Michael Essien (Chelsea & Ghana)
2005 – Mohamed Barakat (Al Ahly & Egypt)
2004 – Jay Jay Okocha (Bolton & Nigeria)
2003 – Jay Jay Okocha (Bolton & Nigeria)
2002 – El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool & Senegal)
2001 – Sammy Kuffour (Bayern Munich & Ghana)
2000 – Patrick Mboma (Parma & Cameroon)

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2010, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment