Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomeSportsSpain, deserving winners of the World Cup

Spain, deserving winners of the World Cup

Spain, deserving winners of the World Cup

Spain’s triumph at the just concluded World Cup in South Africa came as no surprise to me and many other sports journalists and analysts too around the World. They defeated Holland 1-0 in the grand finale last Sunday at the Soccer City Stadium in Johannesburg to win the World Cup for the first time in their history. (Photo: Spain players celebrating their World Cup trophy victory)

Before the commencement of the World Cup finals they were put among the pre-tournament favourites by bookmakers. This was because of their good performance in the last two to three years both in continental and world stages.

They went in to South Africa as the Champions of Europe and the Spanish leading club at the moment Barcelona have been performing so well too in both continental and world stages winning six trophies since last year including the most attractive and expensive club competition in the World the Uefa Champions League and two Spanish Laliga tiles.

Interestingly the bulk of Spain staring players are from the Catalan club and I believe was one of the reason players like Xavi and Andres Inistea coordinated well in the midfield as well as Puyol and Pique in the central defence.

Spain had fantastic World Cup qualifiers winning nearly all their matches convincingly and were one of the European teams that booked their place to the finals early.

Though losing their opening group match to Switzerland, their overall performance at the finals in South Africa was exceptionally good. They went on to win all the other matches including victories over Portugal, Paraguay, Germany in the knock-out stages before narrowly defeating Holland in the final courtesy of Iniesta’s goal in the second half of extra time.

What I like most about Spain is their style of play and the quality of players they have. They pass the ball around very well from the goalkeeper to the defenders, to the midfielders and on to the forwarders. All their players are good particularly Villa, Iniesta and Xavi, the three were fantastic and were the best in the team. Villa ended up as one of the top goals scorer in the tournament scoring five goals. He and three others Thomas Mueller of Germany, Wesley Seniejder and Diego Forlan were tied in five goals each. The German was pronounced the winner of addidas golden boot because he got more goals assists than the others.

Spain really deserve to be worthy winners of the World Cup and the best in the World at the moment. Holland were good as well, they had a fantastic tournament too. Their star player Wesley Sneijder had an excellent tournament and it was no surprise that he was a serious contender of the best player of the tournament (addidas golden ball) award. He was voted second behind Uruguay’s Diego Forlan by accredited members of the Media. David Villa came third.

Holland have now lost three grand finale after losing to West Germany in 1974, Argentina four years later and now Spain.

Iniesta and colleagues celebrating with the World Cup trophy in his hands

Iniesta and colleagues celebrating with the World Cup trophy in his hands

Credit: Sports Writers Association of Sierra Leone (SWASAL). Partial Sponsors: Mercury International.
By Mohamed Fajah Barrie at the 2010 World Cup in South Africa

Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2010, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment