Your trusted place for Sierra Leone and global news
HomeGlobalSLPW approves the formation of policy advisory committees

SLPW approves the formation of policy advisory committees

SLPW approves the formation of policy advisory committees

WASHINGTON, May 3, 2012Sierra Leone Policy Watch Incorporated (SLPW) is pleased to announced that at a recent meeting of the Board and Executive, the formation of five advisory committees were unanimously approved.  They include policy committees on Education, Health and Sanitation, Fiscal and Economic and Land Tenure System.

Formed to examine policies currently being pursued by the Sierra Leone Government, the newly formed committees will help to analyze and apply field based public policy research geared towards the formulation, recommendation and implementation of sound, strategic public policy solutions to decision makers that are in the interest of the people of Sierra Leone.

“At a time when we have affirmed our dream to move past the donor nation that we are to a middle income one, this is a unique opportunity for us to be fully engaged in the development of our country.  The various committees will offer transformational policy recommendations for Sierra Leone’s prosperity,” said Board Chairman, Jonathan M. Rose.

The individuals below have been approved to serve in the committees below:

1. Education Policy

Dr. Sam Kargbo – Chairman
Director of Research & Program Development
State University of New York (SUNY) – NY
Dr. Patrick Hayes – Member
Archivist- Redemptorist Fathers (Baltimore Province)
Visiting Professor of Religious Studies
University of Makeni (UNIMAK) – Sierra Leone
Ms. Peggy Murray – Member
President Friends of Sierra Leone
Retired Peace Corp Volunteer to Sierra Leone
Ms. Carol Sallaymatu Bangura – Member
Educationist & Author
Founder of Africenter.org

2. Fiscal and Economic  

Dr. Jonathan M Rose – Chairman
Manufacturing Manager
3M Corporation

3. Health & Sanitation

Ms. Gloria Betts – Chairlady
President – HOME Initiative
Dr. Marion Koso-Thomas – Member
Board Certified Pediatrician
Program Officer – Global Network for Women’s & Children’s Health Research
National Institute of Health (NIH)
Dr. Charles Senesie – Member
Clinical Trial Regulation Department
Government of Switzerland
Dr. Beryl Greywoode – Member
Founder – Project RAIN

4. Information & Communication Technology  

Tamba S. Lamin – Chairman
Chief Executive Officer 
Salone Tech Business Solutions
Charles Hubbard – Member
Telecommunication Engineer
Verizon European Division
David Moinina Sengeh – Member
MIT Media Lab (SM 2012 Candidate) 
Kandeh A. Fofanah – Member
Clinical Engineering and Technology Management (MSc 2012 Candidate)
Technical Support Voice & Internet Specialist
Comcast Business Services

5. Land Tenure System

Dr. Ahmed Lans Kumalah – Chairman 
Deputy Director
The Mitchell Group

Interested individuals, Sierra Leoneans, and non-Sierra Leoneans alike, with the expertise in policy making, interest and passion for international and socio-economic development who would like to volunteer generously of their time and talents to the above advisory committees are kindly invited to contact SLPW.

CONTACT:  Anthony Abdul Karim Kamara, Jnr., Director of Communications, anthonykamara@slpw.org

ABOUT SLPW INC: Sierra Leone Policy Watch, Inc., is an independent, nonprofit, Washington-based policy think-tank that seeks to provide and improve strategic policy insights and recommendations to decision makers in an effort to promote Fairness, Accountability, Integrity, Transparency and Honesty (FAITH) in government and in the interest of the people of Sierra Leone.


Stay with Sierra Express Media, for your trusted place in news!

© 2012, https:. All rights reserved.

Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment